PPE standards: what each one covers and where its claim stops
Helmets, eye and face protection, gloves, footwear and high-visibility clothing each answer to a different standard, tested for different things. This is what each one covers, where its claim stops, and which body is entitled to say so.
16 tracks
Compiled 2026Compiled from the editions named on each entry. Standards are revised, amended and withdrawn on their own schedules, and several of these have moved since the edition described. Check the current text before a conformity decision.
This page describes sources; it does not assess product conformity or certificate validity, or choose products. Hearing, respiratory and fall protection and body armour are outside its coverage. A conformity decision belongs to the current text, the responsible body and a qualified reader.
What it protects
Head protection
BS EN 397:2012+A1:2012
Head protection
Industrial safety helmets
Withdrawn
This edition has been withdrawn and replaced by BS EN 397:2025. This entry describes the 2012 text with its 2012 amendment.
What it covers
The document describes industrial helmets intended primarily for falling-object protection. It separates the core performance of the helmet from optional claims and from the identity, age, size and shell-material information carried by the mark.
What it tests for
- impact absorption
- penetration resistance
- flame response
- chinstrap release
- electrical contact
- optional claims
Where it stops
A manufacture date is not an expiry date, and the standard does not approve an arbitrary accessory fitted later. Any electrical claim is limited to the accidental-contact context described by this document.
One figure
150 to 250 N
The force band inside which the anchorage of a chinstrap supplied with the helmet is described as releasing.
BS EN 397:2012+A1:2012
Cited asBS EN 397:2012+A1:2012
United Kingdom and the EU · 2012
Eye and face protection
ISO 16321-1:2021
Eye and face protection
General eye and face protectors
Under revision
Amd 1:2024 has moved this edition on, and a revision is in progress. This entry describes ISO 16321-1:2021.
What it covers
The general track for eye and face protectors describes optical, filtering, impact and field-of-use claims. Lens and frame markings remain separate evidence, and the lower impact claim controls the assembled protector.
What it tests for
- optical quality
- ultraviolet filtering
- sunglare filtering
- impact resistance
- field of use
- fogging resistance
Where it stops
It does not cover laser exposure, X-rays or live-work arcs. A claim on one component does not establish the same claim for the complete protector when the other component does not carry it.
Cited asISO 16321-1:2021
International · 2021
ISO 16321-2:2021
Eye and face protection
Eye protection for welding and related work
Edition status
The 2021 first edition is the edition described here. Its current status still needs checking when it is cited in a specification.
What it covers
This part supplements the general eye and face track for welding filters and protectors. It describes filter declarations, light and dark states, angular behaviour and separately marked protector parts.
What it tests for
- welding filtration
- light-state response
- dark-state range
- angular behaviour
Where it stops
It does not replace Part 1 and one component does not inherit another component's claim. A housing declaration does not state the shade of the installed filter.
Cited asISO 16321-2:2021
International · 2021
ISO 16321-3:2021
Eye and face protection
Mesh eye and face protectors
Under revision
Amd 1:2025 has moved this edition on, and a revision is in progress. This entry describes ISO 16321-3:2021.
What it covers
This part supplements the general eye and face track for mesh protectors. Mesh and frame are marked as separate components, with the complete protector limited by the claims carried by both.
What it tests for
- mesh impact
- frame impact
- mechanical integrity
Where it stops
Mesh protection is mechanical and does not make a liquid or radiation claim. A lens added to the assembly needs its own matching basis.
Cited asISO 16321-3:2021
International · 2021
ANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2003
Eye and face protection
Historical United States eye and face protector track
Superseded
Later ANSI/ISEA Z87.1 editions supersede the 2003 document. It remains here only as historical context for markings still encountered in records and stock.
What it covers
The 2003 document separated basic-impact and high-impact protector claims and supplied a voluntary basis that became binding only when another instrument adopted it. It is retained to explain why an older Z87 mark and a current international marking are not one merged scale.
What it tests for
- basic impact
- high impact
- optical quality
- filtering performance
Where it stops
A Z87 mark alone did not complete product selection, and the document excluded several radiation and biological hazards. This historical entry does not decode a current product mark.
Cited asANSI/ISEA Z87.1-2003
United States · 2003
Hand protection
BS EN 388:2016
Hand protection
Protective gloves against mechanical risks
Amended since
A later amended edition exists, BS EN 388:2016+A1:2018, and this entry describes the 2016 text.
What it covers
The standard for gloves protecting against mechanical risk. It sets the tests behind the positional performance string that follows the mechanical-risk pictogram, and the 2016 edition added a TDM cut result and an impact claim to the four results the earlier edition carried.
What it tests for
- abrasion
- Coupe cut
- tear
- puncture
- TDM cut
- impact
Where it stops
The string describes the tested area of the glove, principally the palm, and not the whole glove or its remaining service life. Chemical exposure, heat, electrical contact and hypodermic needles are outside its scope: the puncture position is a sharp-point result and is not a needle claim.
Cited asBS EN 388:2016, clauses 7.2 to 7.4
United Kingdom and the EU · 2016
Foot protection
BS EN ISO 20345:2011
Foot protection
Safety footwear for general workplace hazards
Superseded
BS EN ISO 20345:2022 supersedes this edition. This entry describes the 2011 category and marking line still found on footwear in use.
What it covers
The document starts with a protective toecap and then describes category bundles and separately marked properties for safety footwear. Its class I and class II category branches describe different constructions rather than one continuous ladder.
What it tests for
- toe impact
- toe compression
- sole penetration
- slip resistance
- heat resistance
- water resistance
Where it stops
A category mark is not a complete footwear specification and does not cover several specialist footwear hazards. Antistatic performance is not electrical insulation, and a slip result does not describe grip in every workplace condition.
Cited asBS EN ISO 20345:2011
United Kingdom and the EU · 2011
High-visibility clothing
BS EN ISO 20471:2013
High-visibility clothing
High-visibility clothing
Amended since
The 2016 amendment moved this edition on. This entry describes BS EN ISO 20471:2013 with that edition risk stated separately.
What it covers
The document describes conspicuity clothing through visible material coverage and the performance of its background and retroreflective materials. Its class number is an area class, not a reflectivity grade, and a worn combination can carry a claim different from either garment alone.
What it tests for
- visible material area
- background colour
- retroreflection
- material durability
Where it stops
The mark does not establish visibility in every condition. A wash number describes a tested durability claim and is not a promise of remaining service life.
Cited asBS EN ISO 20471:2013
United Kingdom and the EU · 2013
What makes the claim count
Placing PPE on the EU market
Losing a standard citation and losing a are distinct questions that turn on a documented change assessment agreed with the notified body.
Regulation (EU) 2016/425
Placing PPE on the EU market
The EU market framework for personal protective equipment
Amended since
The consolidated text dated 29 May 2026 includes amendments made since adoption. A legal citation still needs the version applicable to the decision date.
What it covers
The Regulation allocates obligations among manufacturers, importers and distributors and links PPE risk categories to conformity-assessment routes. CE marking records the manufacturer's claim, while a notified body number identifies the body's production-phase involvement where that involvement applies.
Where it stops
The mark is not regulator approval and does not state product origin. A presumption created by a harmonised standard reaches only the requirements covered by the European version cited in the Official Journal.
Cited asRegulation (EU) 2016/425
European Union · 29 May 2026
Blue Guide 2022
Placing PPE on the EU market
Guidance on how EU product rules operate
Edition status
The 2022 edition is the guidance edition described here. Check for later Commission guidance alongside the legislation it explains.
What it covers
The guide explains the roles, placing-on-the-market concepts and conformity machinery used across EU product legislation. It distinguishes an economic operator's formal checks from the technical evidence held elsewhere in the chain.
Where it stops
It is guidance across the product framework, not a PPE product test and not a substitute for the Regulation or the applicable standard. It does not validate a declaration, certificate or mark.
Cited asEuropean Commission, Blue Guide 2022
European Union · 2022
PPE Guidelines, 5th edition, October 2025
Placing PPE on the EU market
Guidance on applying the EU PPE Regulation
Edition status
The fifth edition dated October 2025 is the guidance edition described here. Later guidance may change how an application question is framed.
What it covers
The guidelines describe recurring application questions under the PPE Regulation, including risk categories, conformity routes and the relationship between type examination and production control. They help locate the machinery without replacing the legal instruments.
Where it stops
The guidance does not decide whether a particular product or certificate conforms. A single-unit route, renewal question or production-control route still depends on the applicable facts and current instruments.
Cited asPPE Guidelines, 5th edition, October 2025
European Union · October 2025
Who may test, who may certify
ISO/IEC 17025:2017
Who may test, who may certify
Competence of testing and calibration laboratories
Edition status
The 2017 edition was confirmed in 2023 and remains the edition described here. Competence still applies only within the laboratory's stated scope.
What it covers
The document describes laboratory competence, impartiality and consistent operation. Accreditation is evidence for the activities named in its scope, with competence attached to authorised functions rather than to an organisation in the abstract.
Where it stops
A laboratory scope does not extend automatically to routine outsourced work or to activities it does not list. A conformity statement also depends on the decision rule identified for that statement.
Cited asISO/IEC 17025:2017
International · 2017
ISO/IEC 17065:2012
Who may test, who may certify
Competence of bodies certifying products, processes and services
Edition status
The 2012 edition was confirmed in 2024. A second edition was at approval stage when this record was compiled, so edition control remains live.
What it covers
The document describes impartial product-certification bodies, including competence, evaluation, review and the separation of certification decisions. Work outside competence is declined, and outsourced evaluation remains the certification body's responsibility.
Where it stops
Accreditation under this document does not make every activity of a body competent or make notification under product legislation automatic. A certificate still has a stated scope and status.
Cited asISO/IEC 17065:2012
International · 2012
ISO/IEC 17067:2013
Who may test, who may certify
How product certification schemes are structured
Under revision
The 2013 edition is under revision. This entry describes its scheme framework and not the eventual replacement.
What it covers
The document describes the elements that a product-certification scheme can combine, including evaluation, review, decision and surveillance. The scheme controls what its mark means and whether the claim attaches to a sample, a batch or continuing production.
Where it stops
A scheme type is not a performance grade and does not say that one product is better than another. Its surveillance model cannot be inferred from a certification mark without the scheme record.
Cited asISO/IEC 17067:2013
International · 2013
Saudi facility directives
Regulatory machinery only. Facility, fire and security requirements are outside this page.
Saudi Industrial Safety Directives V1 (2017)
Saudi facility directives
Safety approval and evidence for covered Saudi facilities
Edition status
This entry records the 2017 V1 issue. The directives state that requirements may be amended without notice, so the accepted edition needs confirming with the authority.
What it covers
At regulatory altitude, this directive family describes the approval and compliance-submission machinery for covered Saudi industrial facilities. It identifies approved consultants and contractors, facility-management sign-off, retained evidence, documented PPE needs analysis and the route by which a named ANSI standard or a recognised international equivalent may be accepted.
Where it stops
This entry records regulatory roles, submissions, evidence and edition control only. It does not describe the directive's technical content or any facility system.
Cited asSaudi Industrial Safety Directives V1 (2017)
Saudi Arabia · 2017
Saudi Industrial Security Directives V1 (2017)
Saudi facility directives
Security approval and lifecycle evidence for covered Saudi facilities
Edition status
This entry records the 2017 V1 issue, which superseded earlier HCIS issues. Requirements may be amended without notice, so the accepted edition needs confirming with the authority.
What it covers
At regulatory altitude, this directive family places the final facility classification and approval decision with HCIS. Approval precedes procurement and operation, an equivalence request carries an equivalent-or-better evidentiary case, and the compliance record follows the facility through its lifecycle.
Where it stops
This entry records approval, classification authority, evidence, waiver and edition-control machinery only. It does not describe directive content or any facility system.
Cited asSaudi Industrial Security Directives V1 (2017)
Saudi Arabia · 2017
Not covered here, and why
- EN 166 eye protection marking: a live grammar in the field that this page does not carry.
- EN 352 hearing protection: outside the research coverage behind this page.
- EN 14052 high-performance helmets: outside the research coverage behind this page.
- The 2003 EN 388 legacy edition: not carried as a track in this index.
- Body-armour standards: outside the research coverage behind this page.
How this page was built
Where the record came from
The index holds 16 source records in 8 families. Each record names one document and one edition, describes its subject in original prose, separates product testing from the machinery that supports a claim, and ends with the citation a reader can copy.
Every reference on this shelf carries its jurisdiction and its date as fields rather than as prose, so a reader can see at a glance whose instrument it is and how old the edition described is. Where a record's own text does not state a date, the field says so instead of guessing one.
One entry, walked
The BS EN 388:2016 entry first names the glove document and its later amendment. It then lists 6 tested properties without their level thresholds, states where the claim stops, and closes with BS EN 388:2016, clauses 7.2 to 7.4. The marking grammar stays on the separate decoder page.
What this omits
The record contains no requirement wording, test method, performance table, level table or pictogram. It does not check a product, a certificate or a supplier claim. The named gaps remain visible at the foot of the index, and the Saudi directive entries remain at regulatory, commercial and certification altitude.
Standards referenced here are the copyright of their publishing bodies and none of their text, tables or figures is reproduced: each entry describes the document and cites it by designation and year. Where a specification, a regulator or a contract names an edition, that edition governs and not this page.
Related
- PPE markings: what the string on the shell is claimingType the string stamped on a helmet shell, an eyewear frame or a glove cuff. Each token is separated out, matched to the standard that defines it, and read back as what the equipment claims and what it does not.Reference · 3 min
- Commercial agency: agent, distributor, and what registration changesTwo commercial arrangements that look alike on paper are treated very differently once one of them is registered. This sets out how the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia draw that line, what registration attaches to it, and where the sources disagree.Reference · 5 min